Well, It’s Official…

Just an update to say that I have received my Pilot’s Certificate in the mail!  It took less than a week, which was surprising to say the least.  I was beginning to feel like a kid again; you remember when you ordered something from the catalogue and then took up a position in the house where you could observe the postman-shaped airmass in front of the box in case you missed him after the first 30 or 40 times you checked?  And things always took “6 to 8 weeks”…

So yeah, its official, I can go rent a plane now!  Though of course it’d need to be of the same type and characteristics of the ones I’ve trained in.  And if I go somewhere unfamiliar, there’d be some logbook scrutiny and a checkride involved.  But cool, hey!

Image

The type “A” means a 3 axis, single engine plane with ailerons, rudder and elevator for control (as opposed to a zeppelin or hot-air balloon or hang-glider).  HF means I have passed a course on the all-important Human Factors (basically keeping the Pilot from being the Problem…), HP means High Performance – cruise speeds over 80 kts, not high-performance as in a Lear Jet or anything…  NW means Nose Wheel (as opposed to the more traditional style with the steerable wheel in the back) and R means Radio, so I can hear and be heard.

Before long I will be starting my Navigation training (which will give me an X on the card and allow me to go cross-country).  I’ll also be working on gaining the extra hours (5) and concepts required to take a passenger (PAX on the card…).

THAT’S when it will start to really get cool, when I can take people up for scenic rides to take pictures, or simply absorb the experience of sitting in a chair in the sky.  Can’t wait!

Now THAT might take more than 6 to 8 weeks.

4 thoughts on “Well, It’s Official…

  1. Exciting! It just LOOKS good! I’m sure you’re wearing it on your forehead, in case anyone needs to see!
    Proud of you and your effort…next time I’m down there I’ll once again—after so many years—get to watch 29R disappear from beneath me!

    • Hey Russ, That’s great thanks for the kind words and I’ll check out your blog as well. Congrats likewise on your ticket – I just got my NAV endo couple of weeks ago, but so much to process I haven’t blogged it yet.. stay tuned!

      • I haven’t started my NAV endo yet. Need to save some more pennies. For now I’m happy taking friends up for little trips around the training area. Congratulations on passing your NAV! I’m just making a cuppa and I’m going to sit down and read your latest post.

Leave a Reply

